maison-ferrand

MAISON FERRAND

CORE VALUES

THE CREATION OF MAISON FERRAND

Maison Ferrand is one of the world’s premier boutique producers of fine spirits, and the architect of the artisanal spirits movement. The company was founded by Alexandre Gabriel in 1989 with a mission to preserve age-old, artisanal production methods that capture the true expression of the spiritand a commitment to revisit the classics while advancing innovation.

The adventure began with Ferrand Cognac, a 100% Grande Champagne Cognac with roots in the region stretching back over four centuries and ten generations. In 1996, Alexandre created Citadelle Gin, the first artisanal Gin de France, spearheading the movement for artisanal gins. Due to strict regulations imposed by Cognac’s appellation d’origine controlee (AOC), Alexandre Gabriel was obligated to stop using his cognac stills for seven months of the year. After five long years of negotiations, he obtained the AOC authorization to distill gin during the period that the stills were usually dormant, giving the traditional copper pot stills new life and purpose.

Alexandre then introduced Plantation Rums in 1999, reflecting his passion for old rum-making techniques and implementing the signature double ageing process that distinguishes these spirits. After several years ageing in Bourbon casks in the Tropics, Plantation Rums are then brought to Château de Bonbonnet in France, where the second maturation process takes place in Ferrand French oak casks, enriching the rum with delicate tannic undertones.

In March 2017, Maison Ferrand acquired the West Indies Rum Distillery in Barbados and one-third of the renowned, which owns Monymusk, Long Pond and Inswood distilleries. Thanks to these exceptional production tools, Alexandre Gabriel fulfilled his vision of creating amazing rums through an ongoing experimentation process that pairs modern techniques with the ancestral methods of making fine rums.

Since 1989, surrounded by an enthusiastic team, Alexandre has dedicated himself to the mission of creating superb spirits that express the marriage of passion, terroir and the passage of time.

Maison Ferrand has offices and production premises at the 18th century Château de Bonbonnet in Ars, in France’s legendary Cognac region. Marketing and finance services are based in Paris. Consumers around the globe appreciate the company’s fine spirits brands, which are distributed in more than 68 countries in some of the world’s most prestigious outlets.

COPYRIGHT © MAISON FERRAND - LEGAL NOTICES - RÉALISÉ PAR TA /Follow us

maison-ferrand

MAISON FERRAND

DES VALEURS FORTES

CRÉATION DE LA MAISON FERRAND

Maison Ferrand est l’architecte principal du mouvement des spiritueux artisanaux. C’est en 1989 qu’Alexandre Gabriel fonde la société avec un mot d’ordre: préserver les anciennes méthodes de production artisanale qui captent la vraie expression du spiritueux, et s’engager à réinventer les classiques tout en promouvant l’innovation.

Cette belle aventure commence avec Cognac Ferrand, un Cognac 100 % Grande Champagne dont les racines dans la région remontent à quatre siècles et dix générations. En 1996, Alexandre créé le gin Citadelle, le premier gin artisanal de France, lançant un véritable mouvement pour les gins artisanaux. En raison des règlements stricts imposés par l’appellation d’origine contrôlée (l’AOC) du Cognac, Alexandre Gabriel est obligé de cesser l’utilisation de ses alambics pendant sept mois de l’année. Après cinq longues années de négociations, il obtient l’autorisation AOC de distiller du gin pendant la période habituelle de repos des alambics traditionnels Charentais en cuivre, leur donnant une nouvelle vie et une nouvelle raison d’être.

Alexandre lance ensuite les rhums Plantation en 1999 afin de partager sa passion pour les processus ancestraux de production du rhum et mettre en œuvre sa technique phare, le double vieillissement. Après plusieurs années de maturation dans des fûts de Bourbon sous les Tropiques, les rhums Plantation sont importés au Château de Bonbonnet en France pour la deuxième étape de vieillissement dans des fûts Ferrand de chêne français qui enrichissent le rhum avec des nuances tanniques délicates.

En mars 2017, Maison Ferrand acquiert West Indies Rum Distillery en Barbade et un tiers du célèbre National Rums of Jamaica, qui possède les distilleries Monymusk, Long Pond et Inswood. Grâce à ces outils de production exceptionnels, Alexandre Gabriel réalise des rhums de caractère à travers une expérimentation qui mélange techniques modernes et méthodes ancestrales de production.

Depuis 1989, entouré d’une équipe dynamique, Alexandre poursuit une véritable mission, celle de créer des spiritueux d’exception exprimant passion, terroir et patience.

Le site de production de Maison Ferrand se trouve au Château de Bonbonnet, un édifice du XVIIIème siècle à Ars, dans la région de Cognac en France; tandis que les services marketing et finance sont basés à Paris. Les marques de spiritueux Ferrand sont distribuées dans plus de 68 pays dans les établissements les plus prestigieux du monde, pour le grand plaisir de ses clients internationaux.